Indian Railway main logo Welcome to Indian Railways
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us




News & Announcements


Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
About Us

Rail Land Development Authority (RLDA) is a statutory Authority, under the Ministry of Railways, set-up by an Amendment to the Railways Act, 1989, for development of vacant Railway Land for commercial use for the purpose of generating revenue by non-tariff measures. 

RLDA has since been constituted in terms of Extraordinary Gazette Notification dated 31.10.2006, as amended on 5.1.2007. The Rules for functioning of RLDA have also been notified in the Extraordinary Gazette dated 4.1.2007.

Indian Railways (IR) has approximately 43,000 hectares of vacant land. Land which is not required for operational purposes in the foreseeable future would be identified by the zonal railways and the details thereof would be advised to Railway Board. 

Such plots of land would thereafter be entrusted to RLDA by Railway Board in phases for commercial development.


RLDA (Constitution) Amendment Rules, notified on October 31, 2006 & October 18, 2005
RLDA (Constitution) Rules, 2007, notified on 4th January 2007.
RLDA (Constitution) Amendment Rules, 2007, notified on 8th August 2007.
RLDA (Constitution) Amendment Rules, 2008, notified on 25th June 2008
RLDA (Constitution) Amendment Rules, 2009, notified on 4th September 2009
RLDA Transaction of Business Rules
RLDA Regulations on development of Land

RLDA (Constitution) Amendment Rules, 2020, notified on 13th January 2020



Source : Welcome to RLDA Official Website ! CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 17-06-2020  

  Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.